Accessibility Tools

Skip to main content

Sturge Prize

The Sturge Prize
The International Advisory Committee (IAC) of the International Conference on Dynamical Processes in Excited States of Solids (DPC) met in August 2003 in Christchurch, New Zealand on the occasion of the 14th convocation of these meetings and voted unanimously to establish a prize to be awarded in future DPC's in honor of Professor Michael D. Sturge who passed away in 2003.

Professor Sturge made significant contributions to our understanding in many areas of the optical properties of the condensed phases and exercised foresight and leadership in establishing the Journal of Luminescence as the premier depository of spectroscopic properties of the solid state. He had a continuing and deep seated concern for the welfare of young students which he demonstrated amply during his tenure at Dartmouth College. For these reasons, the IAC felt it appropriate to establish a prize in his honor which would recognize contributions made by researchers in the field of Condensed Matter Spectroscopy who are in the initial phases of their scientific careers.

Previous Sturge Prize winners:
DPC 2005: Irene Georgakoudi
DPC 2007: Angel Garcia Adeva
DPC 2010: Thierry Chaneliere
DPC 2013: Richard Hildner
DPC 2016: Haiming Zhu
DPC 2019: Jiajia Zhou
DPC 2022: Renren Deng

The deadline of submitting application for the DPC'22 Sturge Prize is June 27, 2022, and the winner will be announced by July 29, 2022.

Please send your application via the form below. If you have any questions, please contact Prof. Luisa Bausa (luisa.bausa(at), who is the chair of the Prize Committee.


The Sturge Prize Committee:

  1. Luisa E. Bausá - chair - Universidad Autónoma de Madrid
  2. Daniel M. Boye - Davidson College, Davidson, United States
  3. Xueyuan Chen - Fujian Institute of Research on the Structure of Matter, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Fuzhou, China



We are pleased to announce that the Sturge Prize committee has awarded the 2022 Prize to Dr. Renren Deng for his outstanding contribution to the development of novel luminescent nanomaterials for applications such as photovoltaics and 3D displays, and understanding energy transfer through lanthanide-doped nanocrystals. Dr. Renren Deng is a Professor at Materials Science and Engineering School of Materials Science and Engineering Zhejiang University Hangzhou, China.

We would like to note that the level of the nominees is really very high. All the candidates have shown an excellent CV and very relevant contributions. This reveals a promising future of the field.

Dr. Renren Deng will give the opening on-line lecture at the conference.